Betsy's GrooveBlog

Tomorrow is “Decision Day!”

Posted on: April 19, 2011

After my saddened state a few nights ago, it was decided by the members of my Sderot “entourage” that no decision about our trip should be made until Wednesday, the day before our scheduled visit to the playground. I thought this was a great idea, as it released me from having to think/worry about this decision for the next couple of days!! So, we finished the Jerusalem portion of our trip, and ended our last day sitting up on the rooftop deck, drinking red wine and savoring the view of Jerusalem and the Old City below us. I must admit, this was a MUCH MORE PLEASANT way to end the evening than sitting in the office center, searching through websites to find any news about unrest in southern Israel. We have since checked out of our hotel and arrived in Tel Aviv. Our hotel here does not have any access to internet except for one lone computer in the lobby which must be paid for before use, so I just haven’t had the time nor inclination to go on line. And, I’ve enjoyed a web-surfing-free couple of days!!

Last night we celebrated the Seder with Tamar’s very large, fun-loving family. It was a great time, and of course, the topic or our trip came up. Tamar’s family unanimously agreed that the trip would be fine. And to a group of Israelis, traveling to Sderot is no more dangerous than walking around the streets of New Yorks or jogging alone in Central Park! In their view, it’s hard to justify being nervous about going to Sderot any more so than being nervous about being in Jerusalem or any major city anywhere…

So, tomorrow is the day. I’m sure phonecalls to the playground will be made, Tamar will consult w/ people who shall remain nameless, and our decision will be made. It seems to me that, at the present moment, we are a go…I’ve even unrolled the Bingo Boards so they will lay flat when we play with them on Thursday! Tomorrow while we drive up north for our day of adventure, we’ll listen to the Zumba and Party CDs to refresh our memories about the songs we are dancing to, and the order of the ineractive activities. After all, it’s been over a week since I planned all of this. IF we are going to go, I want this party to be KICK-ASS the best it can possibly be!!
So, stay tuned and wait to learn tomorrow’s decision…That’s what I’ll be doing!

2 Responses to "Tomorrow is “Decision Day!”"

Thanks for posting this update, and I wish you continued safe travels. Hopefully you will travel to Sderot to entertain the kids!

Thanks, Gregg! You are very thoughtful, and I appreciate your good wishes…I’ll keep everyone posted, but as of now, it’s a go!Starting to get excited!!

Leave a Reply

    • betsydance: Thanks, Gregg! You are very thoughtful, and I appreciate your good wishes...I'll keep everyone posted, but as of now, it's a go!Starting to get excit
    • Gregg Hollmann: Thanks for posting this update, and I wish you continued safe travels. Hopefully you will travel to Sderot to entertain the kids!
    • Daryl Farber: Betsy, you make my heart sing. You are not just a talker but a doer. If all of us just did a little bit (including me) our world would be a better

    Categories

